Creative Canvas

Confessions of an old Rupees 500 note

On November 8 2016, Prime Minister Narendra Modi made the big demonetisation announcement. From the stroke of midnight the 500 and 1000 Rupees ceased to be a legal tender. After a few hiccups the new notes arrived. While a lot of us have managed to get rid of our old notes, many others are still languishing in the queues.

All of a sudden, something that was so priced and precious for all of us has now been reduced to just pieces of paper. But spare a thought for the demonitised notes. How they must be feeling?

We caught up with a Rupees 500 notes, see what it had to say.

The woods are not so lovely, dark and deep,
but I had promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep.
And miles to go before I sleep.

Now the promises stand broken,
Trust is shaken,
And millions of hopes are crushed.
And millions of hopes are crushed.

A daughter’s wedding, a laborer’s compensation,
An elderly’s medicine, a child’s operation,
And they’re all distressed and sleepless.
And they’re all distressed and sleepless.

Like I was a star, they all chased me,
Now they despise and dump me,
And with my friends I await our end.
And with my friends I await our end.

For the greater good, I must sacrifice they say,
For the common man come Ache Din I pray,
And I leave wondering whether I am black or white.
And I leave wondering whether I am black or white.

I am not wanted anymore they tell me,
A better version is I think is in the making,
I never thought I would be replaced.
I never thought I would be replaced.

Leave a Reply

